Hon Sports Minister Namal Rajapaksha Launches Hambanthota District Football League

The Hambantota Football League becomes the first League to inaugurate a tournament of this nature and will involve five teams in this tournament which is likely to be competed for almost six weeks. This was disclosed by the Sports Minister, Namal Rajapaksa at the media conference and launching ceremony of the Hambantota District Football League Football Tournament held at the Duncan White Auditorium of the Sports Ministry premises on Friday.

The five teams were named under Beliatta Sports Club, Hambantota White Tigers, Ambalantota Football Club, Kirinda Youth Club and the La Thangallians of Tangalle will be tangled in the battle for honours.

The interesting aspect of this tournament is that all these clubs are sponsored by a franchise which is a great boost for the sport. The tournament will be inaugurated today at the Mahinda Rajapaksa Grounds in Tangalle commencing at 3.00 p.m.

All matches will be staged in three venues namely, Mahinda Rajapaksa Ground in Tangalle, Beliatta and Municipal Grounds in Hambantota respectively.

The grand finale of this tournament is scheduled to be held at the Mahinda Rajapaksa Stadium in Tangalle on February 28 under lights commencing at 6.00 p.m.

The organizers intend to form a pool of 25 players consisting of the leading talented boys from their respective Districts and will later engage them to playing with other District teams that will subsequently allow the Football Federation to scout for the best players and be inducted to the National Football Pool.

This tournament is organised and conducted by the Hambantota District Sports Council in collaboration with the Sports Ministry and the local football governing body the Football Federation of Sri Lanka (FFSL).

The champions will carry away the Champions Trophy and a cash award while the runner-up will receive a cash award. The most valuable player of each match, player of the tournament, the best goalkeeper, the highest scorer of the tournament, best player of the final and best goal-keeper of the final will also be rewarded.



Latest News
notekoob news
ඡන්දයට බය අනුරගේ අණුවන මොලේ - FFSL President Election 2021
notekoob news
Spain vs Poland Live Stream Euro 2020
notekoob news
France vs Germany Live Stream Euro 2020 Link 2